September 2012 Archives

September 13, 2012

Massachusetts Man Arrested for DUI / OUI After Driving Wrong Way on Pike


A Massachusetts man was arrested this week on Drunk Driving Charges for allegedly traveling down the wrong way on the Massachusetts Turnpike. He was charged with Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol, 3rd Subsequent Offense.

In Massachusetts, a OUI / DUI 3rd Offense carries severe penalties upon conviction, including imprisonment for not less than 180 days and up to 5 years in state prison; driver's license suspension for 8 years; and cancellation of the vehicle's registration for the duration of the license suspension.

Drunk driving offenses are prosecuted very aggressively in Massachusetts, and the penalties can often be very significant. Subsequent offenses, particularly 3rd offenses and greater, are prosecuted extremely aggressively, and in many cases the government seeks to petition for a Dangerousness Hearing and asks a judge to detain the person without bail pending the resolution of the case.

Boston DUI / OUI Lawyer Lefteris K. Travayiakis is available 24/7 for consultation on all Massachusetts Drunk Driving Crimes, including OUI / DUI and subsequent offenses.

To schedule a Free Consultation, Click Here to Contact a Massachusetts DUI / OUI Lawyer or call 617-325-9500.

September 9, 2012

Massachusetts Woman Arrested for Drunk Driving with 4 Year Old in Car


A Stoughton woman was arrested this past weekend and charged with several Massachusetts Drunk Driving Law Violations after getting into an accident with a 4 year old child in the car.

The woman from Stoughton was arraigned in Stoughton District Court this past Friday and charged with Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol, Second Offense; Negligent Operation of a Motor Vehicle; and Child Endangerment While OUI / DUI of Alcohol or Drugs.

The Massachusetts DUI / OUI Crime of Child Endangerment While Operating Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs punishes those drivers who operate under the influence with a child 14 years of age or younger in the car. The statute punishes first offenders with commitment of not less than 90 days and up to 2.5 years in the House of Corrections, along with a driver's license suspension of 1 year. Second offenders of Child Endangerment While OUI / DUI can be imprisoned to state prison for 3 to 5 years and may also lose their driver's license for 3 years.

A DUI / OUI 2nd Offense in Massachusetts is punishable by imprisonment for not less than 60 days and up to 2.5 years in the House of Corrections. Second time DUI / OUI offenders will also face a loss of their driver's license for 2 years and must install an interlock device on their vehicle when their driver's license is reinstated.

Massachusetts Drunk Driving Laws also offer an "Alternative Disposition" for a 2nd Offense OUI / DUI which mandates that they be placed on probation and complete an in-patient alcohol treatment program. Even with an alternative disposition, offenders will still lose their driver's license for 2 years and must still intall an interlock device on their car when their license is reinstated.

Continue reading "Massachusetts Woman Arrested for Drunk Driving with 4 Year Old in Car" »